Seyed Ehtesham Hasnain

Seyed Ehtesham Hasnain

Place of Birth : India
Position : National Science Chair at Indian Institute of Technology
Field of study : Molecular infection biology, molecular epidemiology, DNA diagnostics, drug repurposing



Prof. Seyed E. Hasnain is an active scientist, administrator, institution builder, and policy maker. After post-doctoral training in the USA and Canada, he joined the National Institute of Immunology, New Delhi. He was a Member of the Science and Engineering Research Board (SERB), Ministry of S&T; Governing Board of Indian Council of Medical Research; Member of Science Advisory Council to the Prime Minister of India (2004-2014); University Grants Commission (UGC), Chairman/Member of Governing Council/Academic Committee/Research Advisory Council/Board of Directors of prestigious institutions such as All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS), New Delhi, Institute of Liver and Biliary Sciences (ILBS), New Delhi, PGIMER-Chandigarh, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, AMU, JNU, etc. He is a Member of Aga Khan Foundation National Committee. Awards and recognitions include Padma Shri (Civilian Award) from the President of India and Germany’s Highest Civilian Award DasVerdienstkreuz, 1. Klasse (outstanding previous recipients include Nobel laureate Herman Muller, former German Chancellor Helmut Kohl, former Japanese Prime Minister Yasuhiro Nakasone and music conductor John Crosby, etc.); Humboldt Research Prize (Germany); Robert Koch Fellowship (Berlin); and prestigious Indian Awards such as G.D. Birla Award, SS Bhatnagar Prize, FICCI Award, BR Ambedkar Award, etc. He was elected Member of the German National Academy of Sciences, Leopoldina; Fellow of American Academy of Microbiology, USA; Fellow of TWAS (Italy); and Fellow of all major Science Academies of India (FNA/FASc/FNASc). He has lectured extensively in different countries and received Honorary Doctorates from universities in India and abroad. He continues to be associated with the sectional committee to elect Members of German National Academy of Sciences, Leopoldina.

© Copyright STEP 2019, All rights reserved